27 weeks

How Far Along: 27 weeks (as of last Saturday)

Fruit/Veggie: A head of cauliflower

Size: Weight: a little less than 2lbs. Length: about 14.5 inches

Baby changes: He’s sleeping and waking at regular intervals, opening and closing his eyes, and probably sucking his fingers. His brain is very active now and continues to develop rapidly.

Best Moment this week: I had to do my 1 hour glucose tolerance test (it is standard practice for all pregnant women about this gestation to check for gestational diabetes) and while the test is GROSS – not a highlight of the week at ALL – passing the test was great 🙂 YAY. I was super nervous about it because I forgot I had it scheduled & had a big plate of dessert at home group the night before and I was worried it would skew the results, but it turned out fine. Whew.

Gender: Sweet baby boy. {Owen Paul Stone}

Movement: He is still more calm that his brother ever was, but he does move fairly often and his movements are STRONG. He seems to wake up at pretty predictable times (hopefully this will = an easy to schedule sleeper!)

Food Craving: Do diet cherry vanilla Dr.Peppers from Sonic count? 😉

Sleep: Sleep is okay. Not great between the having to pee and getting kicked (babies are nocturnal you know. at least my babies are) and general pregnancy discomfort. Not awful, but definitely not great…its just the way sleep goes the last leg of pregnancy.

Symptoms: I could write a list – but basically I just feel like I’m about 7 months pregnant (having a one year old just compounds this). Overall – I feel really really good – but the end IS nearing and that brings some discomfort. Being a human crock pot is not always the most comfortable 😉 I’m super thankful for my hubby – he rubs my back and my feet/ankles pretty much every night before bed and it speaks such volumes of love to me!

What I am looking forward to: Oh my, the nice weather last week was AMAZING! It dramatically improved life for us 🙂 We opened all the windows and played outside all the time and went on walks! I am talking actual walks people! Whew I didn’t just go to the mailbox and think I was going to die of heat exhaustion!

I told Jordan, I didn’t really believe fall would ever come! And even though it is hot again this week, knowing it is almost over for a while makes such a difference! So I am looking forward to more fall days!

Belly pic:


Leave a Reply

