22 weeks

How Far Along: 22 weeks.

Fruit/Veggie: Spaghetti Squash

Size: Owen now weighs almost a pound and is about 11 inches long.

Baby changes: His lips, eyelids, and eyebrows are becoming more distinct, and he’s even developing tiny tooth buds beneath his gums. His eyes have formed, but his irises (the colored part of the eye) still lack pigment.

Best Moment this week: The increase in Owen’s movement is great…I love it.

On a more random note: I am trying to be a better coupon-er and while I am not amazing – I did save $45 on my last grocery shopping trip. Hip hip hooray!

Gender: Sweet baby BOY – Owen Paul

Movement: I notice him mostly at night…because that is when I’m still I guess. I have also noticed him kicking when Hudson is sitting on top of my belly – haha! I notice him most on the low right side of my belly, I think that is where his feet are most of the time.

Food Craving: Iced coffee. Mexican food. Pizza. How healthy of me 🙂

Sleep: I haven’t slept as much as I usually do this week, but more because we’ve been busy/had things going on late at night than because I’m preggo.

Symptoms: Still annoying lower back pain. Really sore feet/ankles – this is the product of a busy week. Some morning sickness – RANdom! It just hits me out of the blue – so weird – I never threw up when I was pregs with Hudson and I’ve only thrown up a handful of times this go around, but I get queasy.

It hasn’t been anything bad, more of a nuisance – I’ll be going about my morning with Hudson and suddenly need to puke. Gross. The other day he was in the bathroom with me and I was throwing up and he came and put his little head on my shoulder – Mama’s sweet boy 🙂 He is just the sweetest in the whole world!!

What I am looking forward to: Hmm…this is NICU nurse-y of me…but we are getting close to 23/24 weeks…which is kind of a blessing in that I know Owen is considered viable & could survive if he had to be born for whatever reason…and kind of a curse in that every week hereafter I think, “Ok. If I go into preterm labor this week, this is the scenario…”

It doesn’t stress me out as much as you would think considering my line of work…but it is always in the back of my mind. My knowledge of everything that goes wrong in pregnancy+birth adds an extra layer into surrendering my children over to the Lord and is definitely something we pray about often.


Leave a Reply

