Recipe {Chicken Enchilada Casserole}

photo & original recipe (which i modified a little)

I guess I am on a recipe sharing roll…but this is another REALLY easy and really tasty meal.

When it comes to cooking, “easy” is my modus operandi these days.

I am so un-inspired to cook in the summer. I just want to eat fruit all day long. Most days that IS all we eat…fruit and salad with some sort of meat on top. Usually meat that I grill because our oven makes our house dang hot. And it is already eleventy-zillion degrees outside…the A/C needs all the help it can get!

It just so happens that these last 2 recipes happen to go in the oven…which is partly due to the fact that we are out of propane for the grill and party just random.

Anyhow…long story short! This recipe was very yummy, came together in a few minutes, and would easily feed a crowd…

{Ingredients::}

1 pkg small corn tortillas (white or yellow – whatever you prefer – I used yellow)

3-4 C. chicken, cooked & chopped (I used the leftover chicken from these Slow Cooker Chicken Tacos which I made recently…I probably used about 3-4 cups of chicken because it is what I had. You could do it with less and be fine)

1 can Fat Free Cream of Chicken soup

1 can Fat Free Cream of Celery soup

1 (16 oz) Fat Free sour cream (again, I used the whole thing but I am sure it would be good with only 8 oz)

1 can Rotel, mostly drained (I used mild b/c regular is a little spicy for Hudson.)

1 tsp (or more) cumin

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp black pepper

2 C shredded cheese (I used colby jack. Cheddar or pepper jack would be good as well)

{Directions::}

Preheat oven to 425.

Mix cream of chicken soup, cream of celery soup, sour cream, rotel, cumin, salt, and pepper in a bowl.

In a 9×13 glass dish spread about 1/2 C of the sour cream mixture.

Now, get your tortillas. Dip them in water before you put them in the baking dish…I just ran them under the faucet. After you get them wet, layer the tortillas on top of the cream mixture.

Then add a layer of chicken.

Then sprinkle some cheese.

Then repeat…tortillas…cream…chicken…cheese…tortillas

You could probably do 3 layers…I was lazy and only did two. Make sure to end with tortillas.

At this point I still had some cream so I put it on top of the tortillas and then added cheese.

Next time I will use up all the cream on the previous layers and just top with cheese so it’ll be a little crispy on top.

I sprinkled a little extra cumin on the top because I like it.

Bake at 425 for about 20 minutes…until heated through and the cheese is nice & bubbly.

Yum.

We had this with…you guessed it…fresh fruit.

It would also be delish with a big spinach salad.

2 thoughts on “Recipe {Chicken Enchilada Casserole}

  1. That looks delicious!! I love how quick, simple, and easy it is! Such a great recipe find! Thanks for sharing! I’m new to blogging here and I just love how supportive and creative everyone is! If you have time, could you please check out my blog? http://shecooksandheeats.wordpress.com/ If you have any, I would love some advice 🙂

Leave a Reply

