18 weeks + 19 weeks

{belated} Pregnancy Highlights for the Week: 18

How Far Along: 18 weeks (on July 9)

Fruit/Veggie: Bell Pepper.

Size: He is about 5.5 inches from the crown of his head to his bottom. (They don’t measure from head to toe for a while) He weighs about 7 ounces.

Baby changes:  His blood vessels are visible through his thin skin, and his ears are now in their final position, although they’re still standing out from his head a bit. A protective covering of myelin is beginning to form around his nerves, a process that will continue for a year after he’s born.

Best Moment this week: O’s kicking has been more noticeable this week, though still more subtle than I remember his brother being. Jordan says…maybe this baby will be super chill, totally unlike our firstborn who is either a) in constant motion or b) asleep.

Gender: Sweet baby BOY – Owen Paul

Movement: I guess I already covered this one 🙂

Food Craving: Hmm…my cravings totally depend on the day. So right at this moment…really really cold ice water. Also, sausage balls, probably because I made them for a bridal shower this weekend and the leftovers are lurking in my fridge. Also, ironically, bell peppers…I love red & orange peppers + ranch. Mmm!

Sleep: Sleep is extra good because I busted out the Snoogle this week. When I was pregnant with Hudson I thought this contraption was over-rated, but Jordan got it for me as a gift sometime during my second trimester and then I ate my words.

Goodness gracious this thing is comfy!!! Even now when my belly is not big, it helps support my lower back & keeps me more comfortable at night. I love it. Although I am really glad we have a king sized bed because it takes up a fair amount of space.

Symptoms: No big news to report, I’m feeling good.

What I am looking forward to: We go see Dr. G on Friday and we’re doing our 2nd trimester ultrasound!

I am so ready to see my sweet little Owen!! 🙂

…and the other night I randomly dreamed during our sono they told me he was actually a girl…so…I kind of want to make sure it is really Owen in there 😉 

{current} Pregnancy Highlights for the Week: 19

How Far Along: 19 weeks (on July 16)

Fruit/Veggie: Heirloom Tomato.

Size: He is about 6 inches from the crown of his head to his bottom. (They don’t measure from head to toe for a while) At our sono last Friday he weighed about 9 ounces…which is right on track…this kiddo has measured {exactly} like they expect for a due date of Dec 10, 2011 every time we’ve seen him…but like he’ll really come out on that day! I’m betting/planning to be late again…my babies like to cook. Then if I’m not {and I’m at least 38 weeks} we can all do the happy dance together!

Baby changes: Sensory development is exploding! His brain is designating specialized areas for smell, taste, hearing, vision, and touch. He can hear our voices now…isn’t that fun?! His arms and legs are in the right proportions to each other and the rest of his body now. His kidneys continue to make urine and the hair on his scalp is sprouting {I hope he comes out with a bunch}. A waxy protective coating called the vernix caseosa is forming on his skin to prevent it from pickling in the amniotic fluid protect it. {Seriously, BabyCenter. Ick. Re-write that paragraph. I do not want to think about “pickling” and “my baby” in the same context.}

Best Moment this week: Getting to see Owen last Friday during our sono. It adds so much more real-ness & excitement.

Gender: Sweet baby BOY – Owen Paul

Movement: Noticing more & more squirms. My suspicions were confirmed during my sono…I’ve been thinking that I’ve noticed his movement less that I did with Hudson, remember? Well…I have been wondering if part of the reason is the position of my placenta. See…with Hudson, my placenta was posterior (which is a fancy way of saying “in the back of my uterus” so his kicks were a lot more noticeable even early on). This time around my placenta is anterior (which is the opposite of “posterior” meaning it is in the front of my uterus). So Owen has more to kick through and is harder to notice/feel. He is also harder to notice because I’m pretty busy chasing his brother around these days 😉 

Just in case you wish for me to use the word “placenta” even MORE  times in this post {wink} here are a few more random facts: my placenta could still move to a posterior position as my uterus grows. And last but not least, nope, the position doesn’t really affect labor & delivery at all. Not unless we are talking about placenta previa … which we are thankfully not!

So there you go! All you wanted to know and so much more, right {wink wink}. Sometimes the nurse in me just can’t keep quiet.

Food Craving: Fruit. When it is a bajillion degrees outside all I want to eat is fruit.

Sleep: We had one of those LONG weekends and sleep has been hard to come by. Not as in “I can’t go to/stay asleep” but as in “Seriously? It is already time to get up? Didn’t we just get into bed?”. Then I worked Sunday night and let me tell you…I really worked. I haven’t worked that hard in a long time…partly because I don’t go to work very often…but my assignment kept me especially busy!

Symptoms: I’ve had some round ligament pain and quite a bit of SIJ discomfort as my body is loosening up and stretching out & little guy is growing. Nothing terrible. Just a little annoying. My body pillow + some lower back/core exercises have really helped though.

What I am looking forward to: I am hoping Jordan will be able to feel our little squirmy guy some soon! Speaking of Jordan, I am really looking forward to some time with my hubby this week…we haven’t seen each other much recently. Wah!

I am also SUPER excited to see the final Harry Potter sometime this week!!! I’m a nerd…I know.




Leave a Reply

