{Chicken Carbonara}

Yup. Another recipe.

I am such a foodie.

I think it is so fun….searching for new recipes. Pouring over gorgeous pictures of meals. Prepping the ingredients. Cooking the meal. Enjoy good food with my people.

I don’t make fancy food. Or at least not very often 😉 because let’s be honest…there is no time for that around here!

This recipe sounds a little fancy…but it is SO simple. It is delish. I think it would be great for feeding company – in fact, if you come over for dinner sometime soon – you will probably be eating this dish!

Oh, and did I mention that it also comes together in mere minutes?! That’s what I am talking about!

* * *

{Chicken Carbonara}

adapted, though barely, from Tyler Florence’s Spaghetti al la Carbonara

* * *

Ingredients:

1 rotisserie chicken

1 lb dry spaghetti

2 T. extra virgin olive oil

4 ounces turkey bacon, diced

4 cloves garlic, finely minced

2 large eggs

1 C shredded parmasean (NOT the powdered kind. Uh uh. Don’t do it.)

coarse black pepper to taste

1 handful fresh parsley, chopped (I probably used 1/3 – 1/2 C)

1 small handful fresh basil, chopped (Probably used about 1/4 C)

* * *

1. Pull the skin off the chicken. Discard. Pull the meat off and shred or chop. Set aside.

2. Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil. Cook pasta to al dente (tender, but still firm to the bite).

3. While the water is coming to a boil/pasta is cooking: Heat olive oil in a large skillet. Add the diced bacon. Saute about 5 minutes then add the minced garlic and black pepper. Add the parsley & basil (FYI – the fresh herbs totally make this dish). Add 1 C. of the chopped chicken (you can add more if you want. I saved the rest and got another meal out of it and there was plenty in the dish).

4. In a separate bowl, beat the eggs. Stir in the parmasean.

5. Reserve 1/2 of the starchy cooking water from the pasta, then drain the pasta. Add the noodles to the skillet with the chicken, bacon & herbs. Mix it all up.

6. Now – remove the skillet from the heat so as to not scramble the eggs – add the egg & cheese mixture to the noodle mixture. Mix it up quickly with the hot noodles, it will thicken as it cooks. I mixed it with a pair of tongs. It will cook fast, maybe 2 minutes. Add some of the reserved pasta water if you need to thin the sauce out a little.

TA-DA!!

* * *

I served this with a caesar salad and some garlic bread. Easy peasy and everyone loved it. Me. Jordan. Hudson. In fact, I don’t think I have ever seen Hudson consume a meal with such enthusiasm…with the exception of a bowl of Blue Bell (the kid has his priorities straight).

Half way through dinner I decided to take a pic because it was SO good…the pic isn’t all that good…because I was anxious to finish my yummy dinner 😉 but it gives you an idea of the thing.

And the funniest thing was that Hudson started slurping & sucking his noodles up into his mouth when we gave him a bite.

He is a funny kid.

See the fun for yourself:

P.S. I think this would be just as delicious without the chicken and even easier. My man likes the extra meat…so I add it…but…something to consider!

One thought on “{Chicken Carbonara}

  1. LOVE the video!!

    And by the way…my lemon bars turned out great!(Thanks to you!) Well, except that I sort of sloshed them into the bottom of the oven as I not-so-carefully place them in. Oops.

Leave a Reply

