{Lemon Bars}

Obviously, taking gorgeous pictures of food is not my gig. But I am always more likely to make something if I see a photo…so…here is my humble attempt. Notice how my crust is way too done…we’ll talk about that. Read on.

* * *

My hubby loves a good lemon bar & I’ve been searching for the perfect recipe for quite some time and I do believe I have gotten pretty darn close!

I made these for Jordan’s father’s day treat.

I should probably first say, we like our lemon bars thick & a little tart. 

So if you like ’em thin and extra sweet…don’t make these…or at least adjust the recipe to suit your taste buds.

* * *

{Lemon Bars}

adjusted from “Bake Sale Lemon Bars” on allrecipes.com

Crust Ingredients

1.5 C flour

2/3 C powdered sugar

3/4 C butter, softened

Filling Ingredients

6 eggs

1.75 C granulated sugar

6 T flour

1 C lemon juice

more powdered sugar for dusting on the top

* * *

For the crust: Combine flour, pwd sugar, and softened butter. Mix well. This will be a sugar cookie kind of consistency when mixed.

Press in the bottom of a greased 9×13 (or if you like ’em real thick…a greased 9×9)

Bake at 350 for about 15 minutes.

* * *

For the filling: Whisk eggs, sugar, flour, and lemon juice together until frothy. I let this go in my kitchen aid with the whisk attachment for a 3-4 minutes.

Pour over hot crust. Place back in the over and bake about 20 more minutes.

Let cool. Dust liberally with powdered sugar. Top with cool whip or whipped cream. I like them with fresh berries on top too 🙂

Enjoy!

* * *

Note: watch this time. My oven cooks pretty hot and the bottom of my crust turned out way more crunchy than I hoped for it to. Oh well, now I know for next time. There are still yummy!

And…For the purpose of documenting this pregnancy better than I did last time. Here is what I am looking like at 15 weeks.

The belly is on its way. Sheesh, things happen faster the second time around!

 

2 thoughts on “{Lemon Bars}

  1. We are having company tonight and I just decided what I’m going to make for dessert!!

    And I’m gonna try not to compare myself to you because I envy your “belly”!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

