An Oscar kind of day

I sure do love my baby boy.

Even though today he acted a lot like this guy:

Whiney. Grouchy. Cranky. Nothing seemed to be going according to his plan or preference today…

I have a sneaking suspicion we’ll be seeing some top teeth come in soon

…and I’ll be honest. All the whining and grouching and fussing just about did me in. I was pretty cranky myself by the end of day. I had to stop. Repent. Pray for patience. Grace. Ask Hudson’s forgiveness…quite a few times today.

Yes. I know he doesn’t understand…but it is a habit we want to set in our home, so I might as well start now, right?

I sang the “Patience Song” to myself more than once. Do you know it?

“Have patience. Have patience. Don’t be in such a hurry. When you get impatient you only start to worry. Remember. Remember, that God is patient too. And think of all the times when others had to wait on you!”

This day, on top of making me aware that I need to be actively cultivating the fruits of the spirit in my heart – especially patience! This day was also humbling. My reaction to life not going my way is very similar to my almost-10-month-old’s, yet the Lord’s patience is so abundant. He is “slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love, forgiving iniquity and transgression” Num 14:18

It is overwhelming to think that my love for my son which is as unending as my finite heart can give is so small compared to the Lord’s love for His children. That “never-stopping, never-giving-up, un-breaking, always-and-forever love” as the Jesus Storybook Bible puts it so poignantly.

I am so thankful for His love & that He has called me to be His own.

I am so thankful for this journey of parenting. I learn so much more about who He is and I see my sin so much more clearly through the process.

I am so thankful for Hudson. Grouchy days included. I can’t imagine life without him.

I am also so thankful for my hubby, who hugs me after my long day & his own long day at the office, mows the grass & does a sink full of dishes without complaint, plays with, bathes, and gets Hud ready for bed so that I can sit quietly by myself for a few minutes. I am so so so blessed to do life with him!

Leave a Reply

